Waiting by Erin Dennington

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Chapter 63

Back inside the room, Christina and Stella sat down a little apart from the others. Bill watched them sit and was aware of a connection crackling between the two of them; it was as if they were bonded by something that he and no one else was privy to. He almost felt jealous, as he wished he had something like that with Stella.

Focusing his mind back on the present situation, he pursed his lips and thought about what Mateo/Matthew had said in the video and what had been revealed in the room. Sometimes Bill was known for his thinking that took a long time to reveal itself, but in this situation, he wanted to put all of his concentration behind it. There was something lurking in the back of his mind that was nagging him, something that seemed out of place, and he struggled to discover what it was. When it surfaced, he actually gave a little jump, he was so surprised that it had not occurred to him before.

"Well, now we know that Davis and Christina are somehow connected to this Mateo/Matthew fellow, but we don't know how I am or even how Stella is. She's just a tourist and I just happened to be in the right place at the right time."

He was interrupted by Stella who said, "Actually, I think that you and I are playing a larger role in this than you think, Bill."

Bill was surprised to see Davis nod his assent, so he pressed Stella for a better explanation.

"Well," she said, "I seem drawn to all of you for some unexplicable reason. I never really thought of myself as a psychic or a healer, but that's what I seem to be, as well as a freak. And, you, Bill, are our way to make sure that this story makes the national news, that millions of people find out about it. With your skills and expertise, we can do this."

Bill chuckled, and finding himself flirting, couldn't help but blurt out, "Ah, Stella, you are not a freak."

She smiled warmly at him and then spoke again. "I think that I have a role that will be determined much later. But we need to find out what Davis and Christina know before we can figure out how much of a role I play in all of this."

"Yeah, guys," Marty piped up. "Tell us, since I seem to be the only one here that actually has no reason to be here at all."

Bill looked at him and said, quite pointedly, "Actually, you're here to be my assistant. So get over yourself already."

Everyone laughed at the dismayed reaction on Marty's face. Marty quickly gathered himself and said, "Well, it's up to me then to bring you all into a realm of sense and sensibility, because, frankly, you're living a science fiction life right about now."

"I never said anything about you being allowed to crack wise-ass remarks," Bill said, and gave Marty a noogie. "You're here to help us make sense, yes, but you're not some all knowing and powerful person and you had best not forget it, boy."

"Okay, okay," Marty muttered, "you guys are all the same. You're always picking on us, the assistants. Phooey on you all. I'll show you how much help I am!" With that, he gathered up some crayons and coloring books from a side table and started drawing a diagram.

Curious, Bill looked over and noticed that it was a diagram of the Dc area. "What's that for?" he asked.

"I have the feeling that you all have seen these critters and I want to know where," Marty said.

"Good idea," Bill said.

"I told you that I am very helpful!"

21:42 - 11.18.02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

leanasidhe
blind-spot
trulypoetic
cuillin2
onebluegreen
jennsnovel02