Waiting by Erin Dennington

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Chapter 93

Marty was infuriated that the voice felt the need to taunt them in the darkness, when they were at the disadvantage. They had no idea where the voice was coming from or from which direction to face in the darkness, and that knowledge was pissing Marty off.

He was sorely tempted to have a few words with the voice but knew that Bill would likely slap him upside the head for doing so. So he bided his time, trying to remain patient, and trying to hide how angry the voice was making him feel.

Davis seemed to sense how frustrated he felt, for he nodded in his direction. A minute later, Stella was by his side, holding his arm. Impossibly enough, he felt a warmth steal through his body and seep into his heart, which calmed him down enough to think logically once again.

"Thanks, Stella," he said.

She smiled and went to stand again by Bill.

"Yo, Matthew," Marty said, "what's up?"

Bill looked sharply at Marty, who only smiled back at him.

The voice appeared to want to engage in this game, for it replied, "Matthew is dead. I am in charge now."

Marty heard Christina stifle a gasp and he put his arm around her to offer her some comfort. "Who are you?" Marty asked.

"Why do you care about my name?" the voice replied. "I should not be forced to stoop to your level and force my identity upon you, but, if it will make you feel better, then I will tell you my name. I am Mateo Rivera, the world's leading bio-engineer."

Christina snorted and pulled slightly back from Marty. "I'm so sure that you are," she said.

"Be quiet, you," the voice snapped. "You are a traitor to this company and do not hold any sort of title with which I should respect you."

"I am a traitor?" Christina asked, angrily. "I am not the one who is betraying my country and its people."

"Is that what you think I am doing?"

"Yes," she replied. "You are out there, hiding from us, hiding from what you did, and the truth of the matter is that you made a specially engineered type of insect which is the world's smallest and most effective killing machine. You were to sell it only to the government and, instead, feeling greedy, you decided to sell it to the general market's highest bidder."

The voice was silent for a minute and then said, "Very well then, if that is what you believe, then that shall be what you believe. I shall not stop you from holding your own beliefs."

With that, the lights once again went on, but this time they revealed a man who stood about 20 feet away from them. He held a jar in one hand and a remote controlled device in the other.

21:24 - 11.30.02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

leanasidhe
blind-spot
trulypoetic
cuillin2
onebluegreen
jennsnovel02